top of page

Food Safety Certification – Yachting Industry

Updated: Aug 10, 2023

Food safety - Yachting

HABC - Level 2 Food Safety

The MLC (Marine Labor Convention) confirmed legislation mandating the certification of all chefs, food handlers and interior crew

Those with responsibility for catering should be properly trained or instructed for their positions and have an adequate knowledge of food and personal hygiene to ensure that food is stored, stock rotated, handled, cooked and served safely and that good practice is clearly applied.

So what is the Food Safety Certification and why is it so important?

• All food handlers must have a recognised qualification that is less than 3 years old.

• Relevant crew members must complete a one-day Level 2 Award in Food Safety course.

• Supervisors are recommended to attend the Level 3 Award Supervision in Food Safety.

Online Food Safety courses are not currently approved or recognised by the MCA.

• The candidate must pass a formal multiple-choice examination at the end of the course.


bottom of page